Momentum

The laws of physics apply.

inertia

/ɪˈnəːʃə/

noun
  1. a tendency to do nothing or to remain unchanged.
    “the bureaucratic inertia of the various tiers of government”
    synonyms:
    inactivity, inaction, inactiveness, inertness, passivity, apathy, accidie, malaise, enervation, sluggishness, lethargy, languor, languidness, listlessness, indolence, slothfulness;

    antonyms:
    activity, energy

  2. PHYSICS
    a property of matter by which it continues in its existing state of rest or uniform motion in a straight line, unless that state is changed by an external force.
    “the power required to overcome friction and the inertia of the moving parts”

When you’ve gained enough momentum on an event, you have the motivation to continue. The better you get, the more you want to do. And the better you want to do it. If on the contrary, you’ve gained enough momentum doing nothing, it’s hard to break the cycle of sloth. Possible, but the will power required to crack the standstill is huge.

I have a few examples. I’ve always been slim. But over the past years I’ve gained weight from a lack of exercise. A small halo of fat formed around my belly. I have tiny love handles that were never there before. Bit by bit, a micro-ounce per day, those fat cells beat my metabolism and made a home beneath my skin.

A past avid runner, I now have lost the touch for a sprint. The momentum to move is gone. The lack of exercising was entirely my choice. I have no excuse.

And you? Are you in a place where you have much motivation, where you know how to build your life bit by bit each day? Or rather, are you finding it a fight to get out of bed and make it through the day?

If you’re the former, I congratulate you. I want to imitate you and do the same. If you’re the latter, I understand. I’ve been there. I’m there. I know how hard to can be to pick up the pieces. Rebuild, regroup, rejuvenate. But if you’ve been inactive or immobile for a very long time, it’s hard. I know. It’s hard to take that first step. You can do it. It’s your choice. It’s very hard to make the first change, but once you have, you’ve just gained a little momentum. The course of your life has just changed ever so slightly, heading to a better direction. Do it again. Make it another day. Then another. Then months become years.

Reclaim your life.

Where are you in the momentum line? 

3 thoughts on “Momentum

Whatcha thinking? Tell me. I won't bite.

